Enquiries: 07713 552 858


Sciatica Testimonials

READ OTHER TESTIMONIALS

Testimonials from Bowen Therapy clients with sciatica

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Prolapsed disc causing acute sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, dressing, work

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The therapist recommended 3 treatments to feel the benefit form the treatment. I felt the most improvement after the second treatment. My movement was less restricted and I was able to sleep through the night. The therapist was excellent, explaining the procedure and what I should expect afterwards. After the third treatment I reduced the amount of pain relief medication I was taking. I have seen a 90% improvement in my condition.

Reference: 01496-02-15
Client: SC
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

This succeeded in reducing shoulder & back pin when steroid injections from a rheumatologist, osteopathy & physiotherapy had all had only limited success. Also, after decades of sciatica, have finally found relief by have a tight muscle released. Also, provided excellent relief for sinus pain and blocked eustachian tubes. Thank you.

Reference: 01485-10-12
Client: KH
Therapist: Jo Austin

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Back pain and sciatica. Restrictive movement in my neck.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking the dog was uncomfortable and driving was difficult.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The sciatica has settled down and driving is easier especially as I am able to turn my head to check over my shoulder. Generally I felt less stiff and had more energy.

Reference: 01468-1-13
Client: JM
Therapist: Jo Austen

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Tennis/long walks/Bellringing/General activity

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, partially

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Feel better first thing in the morning. The treatments have been very good, helped me to focus and feel the benefit of treatment without medication. Helped me to understand how and what is causing me pain.

Reference: 01458-10-12
Client: JC
Therapist: Ros Harrington

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Climbing stairs and walking – always in pain

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes. Everything is back to normal

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Life is now back to normal and without any pain or discomfort. Feel much better in myself now. Claire makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. Best thing I ever did calling Claire and having Bowen.

Reference: 01456-1-13
Client: JC
Therapist: Claire Phillipson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back pain and sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

It was painful to walk, sit, stand for any length of time, sleeping very difficult

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I cannot recommend the treatment highly enough. After two sessions the pain had gone completely. Even after the first one (although actually the symptoms took a while to improve), I felt so much more positive mentally. Anyone who suffers from a bad back will know it gets you down after a while! I tell everyone about the Bowen Therapy and how much it has helped me.

Reference: 01444-2-13
Client: KE
Therapist: Jo Austen

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Climbing stairs and walking, always in pain

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, everything back to normal

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Life is now back to normal and without any pain or discomfort. Feel much better in myself now. Claire makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. Best thing ever did calling Claire and having Bowen.

Reference: 01445-1-13
Client: JC
Therapist: Claire Phillipson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Constant pain, restricted normal movement, standing, sitting down, gardening etc.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Resumed normal movement without pain, no further problems

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Medical treatment via my GP proved fruitless, no proper diagnosis and only offered physio treatment at some indeterminate future date. Within 2 weeks of starting Bowen Therapy and carrying out the recommended exercises my sciatica has gone completely, no pain, and I am now able to move freely ensuring a normal life. I would recommend Bowen Therapy to anyone, and have already done so.

Reference: 01453-9-13
Client: RD
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lumbar Back Pain and Sciatica Pain down right leg

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Makes movement such as walking, bending etc. painful and difficult

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Bowen Treatment has re-levelled my pelvis and relieves a lot of the discomfort for a while

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The improvement in my stance has been great and this in itself eases the back spasms and pain.. It has given me confidence to walk further before resorting to sitting down.

Reference: 01478-10-13
Client: ST
Therapist:

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Suffering from sciatica for two years, then a broken hip from a fall

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Bending down, struggling to do any housework or gardening, not able to sit without pain.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Able to do most tasks.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I am now without pain. I can bend, I am walking more confidently. I now find myself doing things and then realise I haven't been able to do them since the sciatica started.

Reference: 01428-11-13
Client: JH
Therapist: Caroline Lison

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back pain + sciatica down right leg – very painful.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Driving any distance, sitting for long period, especially in car – and sleeping.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

In a lot less pain, sleeping much better, driving for longer distances.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Having never heard of Bowen, I said "I'd try anything" to try to avoid injections into my spine by epidural, which I have since postponed and maybe hope to cancel if I continue to improve and have no pain or "liveable pain". Have had 8 treatments so far.

Reference: 01425-11-13
Client: SH
Therapist: Caroline Lison

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Severe sciatic pain and muscular pain in lower back, buttocks and hamstrings

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Practically everything, but specifically standing up, walking and lying down on bed.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, partially

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had treatments over several months, noticing some improvement after each one. When I went for the first one, I was dependent on a Zimmer frame at home and crutches when I went out. At the clinic, I went up the stairs on all fours and Kim carried the crutches. I graduated to walking sticks which eventually I was able to discard. At the conclusion of treatment, I was able to walk short distances unaided, including stairs which demonstrated a big improvement. I would recommend Kim and Bowen to anyone. It's amazing how effective such a gentle therapy can be.

Reference: 01411-9-14
Client: PAD
Therapist: Kim Holmes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Bad back and sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Any kind of fitness and walking any great distance comfortably.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, started brisk walking again with the aim of increasing to full walking again.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have benefitted immensely, especially after just 1 session. It was amazing. For a 57 year old woman I felt 87 and now have my fitness and positive attitude back towards tackling anything. Prior to my treatment I wouldn't have put myself forward for doing anything as I didn't know if my back would let me down.

Reference: 01400-1-13
Client: SW
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica, pain in left buttock and down left leg to ankle

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking – sitting for long periods, gardening and daily chores.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Been able to resume walking and household tasks and continue to do so more as time passes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen treatment was painless, relaxing in comforting surroundings, following treatment I have reduced by half (and sometimes more) my analgesics. Sleeping is back normal. Post therapy instructions clear and easy to follow.

Reference: 01399-1-13
Client: SC
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Bending down etc, Picking things up.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully recovered

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Walking, bending, lifting has all improved tremendously – treatment was relaxing and very beneficial.

Reference: 01392-4-13
Client: LJ
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pinched sciatic nerve in right buttock

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

One treatment was sufficient as I received it soon after the first symptoms occurred which was beneficial to early recovery

Reference: 01382-11-13
Client: CS
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Protruding lumbar disc pressing on sciatic nerve, intense pain in hip area and thigh.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, generally moving about.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Can now walk about 2 miles without pain and do lots of general activities.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

My therapist has spent time understanding all the parts of the problem and how they evolve and has tailored my treatment accordingly. I am feeling better as a whole, not just the lower back and thigh areas which were so painful. I am so glad that I explored this avenue instead of surgery.

Reference: 01368-9-14
Client: AT
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatic pain in leg, cramps and pins and needles. Tight in shoulders continual pain when walking, took regular painkillers.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, stopped exercise, tired.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Partially, - walking more, in no pain, more flexible, more energy, stopped painkillers.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

More energy, more positive. Less invasive treatment than other treatments. Like the gentle nature of Bowen.

Reference: 01363-7-14
Client: HM
Therapist: Susanne Webb

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica on left hand side caused by cramped seats!

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Caused pain and impeded bending.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Less pain but still some present.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Very relaxing experience from a practitioner with "healing" hands. Good but simple exercises.

Reference: 01338-10-12
Client: JMB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sleeping

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Partially

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had some relief but not consistent

Reference: 01333-11-12
Client: BH
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica and one leg longer than the other ¼ inch.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sciatica was painful and unable to wear normal shoes (always build-ups)

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was diagnosed with one leg longer than the other 30 yr's ago and have had my shoes built up since then. After a few treatments my sciatica was cured. Janet did the pelvic procedures during a normal Bowen treatment after seven treatments we've measured my legs and the difference had gone. I no longer have to have my have my shoes built up and I can wear trainers and wedges which I had never been able to wear before.

Reference: 01343-11-13
Client: MS
Therapist: Janet Savage

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Arthritis (right knee), back pain, sciatica

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was walking with an uneven gait because of arthritis in my right knee. The caused me to suffer from back pain and sciatica. As I didn't want to have a knee replacement until retirement I tried Bowen treatment and found that 2 or 3 sessions kept me pain free for up to a year and allowed me keep working.

Reference: 01257-02-11
Client: JC
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica, through a slipped disc many years ago.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking and general mobility

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, totally

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had 3 Bowen treatments and am now fully recovered and very mobile and have been so ever since the treatment 3 years ago.

Reference: 01235-07-12
Client: DG
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatic Pain and General muscular pains, especially in the thighs.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Anything involving leg movement – plus sitting and standing was painful.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Since Bowen treatment all movements are much easier and less painful.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Before Bowen treatment I was in constant pain. All other therapies I had tried lasted for a few days and then the pain returned. Sitting standing, lying down and walking were all painful. After Bowen treatment the pain gradually began to ease to the extent that after a few sessions I was able to space out the treatments. The pain has now eased so much that on some days I can hardly believe that I am pain free! I don't understand how Bowen works – but it does!

Reference: 01222-05-12
Client: PB
Therapist: Claire Phillipson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Originally sciatica, since menopause, neck and leg pain.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Work, rest and play

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Sciatica almost gone – so, Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen has given me pain relief and hope of a life without constant pain. I have regained lost energy, enthusiasm and optimism. More recently problems with painful and flooding periods have been brought back to normal.

Reference: 01198
Client: SC
Therapist: Hilary Legard

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Trapped nerve sacro-iliac area, very painful

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Standing upright and walking properly.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Relief and mobility was almost instantaneous. I have since been having successful treatment for a variety of ailments.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have had muscular-skeletal problems intermittently for more than 4 yrs and have tried a variety of therapies whenever I have "stiffened up", including NHS physiotherapy. I worked as an SRN SCM in hospital around the country, mostly with the elderly in firm before modern lifting equipment became available, my job was very "hands on", manual lifting was part and parcel of the job. I've also been an active person (gym & swim) and never let my disabilities stop me from working. Just wish Bowen treatment had been available when I first started with muscular-skeletal troubles.

Reference: 01177-08-11
Client: MH
Therapist: Kim Holmes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain in lower back, hip and pins and needles down leg.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Playing golf, swimming, gardening, walking dogs, sleeping.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I am able to resume all activities but carefully and slowly.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I went in desperation for treatment as I was in a lot of unresolved pain and I didn't want to restart strong painkillers etc. I am absolutely thrilled that after only two sessions most of the pain has gone. It was a peaceful yet exhilarating experience. I would have no hesitation in having further treatment and will recommend it to anyone in similar circumstances.

Reference: 01174-05-11
Client: HW
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Severe back problems mainly resulting in sciatica.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

I wasn't able to live life normally e.g. bend, walk, and sleep without pain.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

After I was treated I was again able to do the above normal things.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

On one occasion when I had Bowen treatment for sciatica, after a fall, I was helped enormously. I had been in despair because when I went to the doctor he said that the only thing he could suggest was painkillers. I though "I've got this forever". Anyway after having three treatments from Erica Moss in Oswestry I was gradually able to walk 3-4 miles. It was wonderful to be able to do all th things I used to be able to do before the accident.

Reference: 01162-10-11
Client: GM
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain in lower Buttock

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Prevented me from lifting and playing golf

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Have been able to resume these activities fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Since having the Bowen treatment, I have been able to resume all activities, with no pain

Reference: 01149-11-11
Client: JB
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Severe sciatica.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Pretty much everything.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Completely back to my normal self after several treatments.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have suffered from sciatica several times in the past and have been left to just get on with it and it has taken a very long time. This year, 2017, I was in severe pain and was encouraged to try Bowen. After my first session there was instant relief although it took several sessions for me to totally recover. I now go to Bowen regularly.

Reference: 01667
Client: KR
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Move about or sit comfortably, which made sleeping very difficult

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Resumed full mobility after treatment.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Initially Bowen cured my sciatica whereas conventional medical treatment made no difference at all. Thereafter I found that a Bowen top up treatment every two month has been most beneficial to my overall health and wellbeing. I also wish to thank Tony Crimes for his expertise, patience and understanding and I thoroughly enjoyed our little chats prior to each session which always put me at ease.

Reference: 10590-08-16
Client: RD
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking properly and constant pain down left leg

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The back pain has gone enabling me to walk much easier and the nerve pain down the leg has receded

Reference: 10571-04-16
Client: MR
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Back spasms and sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, general things

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Very helpful, relaxing and giving me my life back.

Reference: 10555-02-17
Client: SW
Therapist: Linda Moore

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Affect everything I did. Constant Pain, unable to sleep or get comfortable sitting or driving

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I have been able to resume my usual routines.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

It was a lovely calm experience which produced a wonderful pain free outcome.

Reference: 10458-05-17
Client: SA
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

I have suffered from sciatica for quite a few years now.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

It prevented me from walking long distances and would give me aches and pains while working.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I can walk further than I used to and it doesn't give me as much grief at work. I seem to sleep better which makes me feel better through the day.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I suffered painful legs due to sciatica. Since receiveing Bowen I have been able walk further and more freely. For a short while I actually felt like I was about 30 years younger such was the buzz it gave me. The pain has not gone completely but it is more bearable and is only there briefly whereas it used to be constant and get me down. I actually feel much better in myself.

Reference: 57267711
Client: TO
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Very painful, limping while walking.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

After suffering sciatica on and off for many years, I have had no episode for 5 months since I started Bowen.

Reference: 01540-02-14
Client: VB
Therapist: Jacky Stevens

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica – left leg, long-term back damage, arthritis

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sleeping! Restricted all activities.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I can now sleep on left side with no problem! Able to garden and walk.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The sciatica eased after first treatment. Now no longer a problem, ongoing treatments eased all areas of pain and continue to do so. The treatment is very gentle and leaves me with a general feeling of wellbeing.

Reference: 01539-05-13
Client: HO
Therapist: Jacky Stevens

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica (lower back pain, plus pain down right leg

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, Sleeping, Sitting, Having a glass of wine! Enjoying xmas

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Very good treatment, I also went to the doctor 5 times because of the ain and was on 12 tablets a day. After about 6/7 weeks the pain started to ease. I would go back to Richie again if I had any problems.

Reference: 01498-02-15
Client: JT
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Arthritis, bad fall on road resulting in sciatica and bad back.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

A lot of my daily task difficult.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Some tasks partially

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Mobility improved, pain somewhat easier, not going to go away at my age, but with the help and kindness I get from my Bowen therapist I cope.

Reference: 01123-08-11
Client: MM
Therapist: Alison Cowley

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Symptoms described by GP as Sciatica from left Buttock to left calf

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Restricted movement using left hip and leg i.e. Standing on left leg alone

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The sciatica appears to have gone 99% off the hip, occasional twinges in exertion of the left leg in difficult position i.e. in Yoga. The burning sensation in my left calf has gone – this gave a lot of pain whilst driving – using the clutch. Overall- I feel 99% normal again with regards to the sciatica pain and restrictions.

Reference: 01117-06-11
Client: WI
Therapist: Cheryl Cunningham

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Spinal injury. Sciatic nerve

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Impaired my mobility, prevented me form living a reasonable active life.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Partially

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The Bowen Therapy amends treatment to my current needs, which allows me to enjoy a mor normal active live.

Reference: 01121-5-11
Client: JW
Therapist: Catherine Skelton

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back pain. Sciatica. Asthma

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Strenuous exercise.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Have been able to increase exercise tolerance.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I found the experience relaxing although lying on a couch increases the stiffness in my back immediately after treatment. It did however get rid of the sciatic pain I had been suffering with for several months. Also since having Bowen therapy I have not required my inhaler which I used for Asthma and only required my ventolin inhaler occasionally.

Reference: 01136-05-11
Client: LN
Therapist: Sue Mason

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I am a 44 yr old female who has had horses for the last 20+ years. I have had lower back problems for about the last 12 years and neck problems for 4 to 5 years previous to this. I first experienced sciatic pain in 2005 and was referred to the countess of Chester to see the consultant and have an MRI scan, this showed compression of the vertebrae causing the sciatic nerve to be trapped. This lasted a total of 24 weeks before the pain started to ease during this time I was taking a vast amount of tramadol pain killers just to get through the day. In 2008 the pain came back even worse this time, once more I was referred to the countess of Chester hospital, where I had another MRI scan. This showed severe nerve damage caused by compressed vertebrae it was decided that I would have surgery to release and try to repair the nerve and to shave of some of the bone which was causing the nerve to become trapped. This went ahead in July 2009 an hour before my op the surgeon dropped the chance of success from 85% to 65% after a further study of the scan. After 3 months recovery all seemed to be going well and I returned to work and riding in the October 2009. All seemed fine until the end of January 2010 when I woke in the middle of the night in more pain than I had ever felt. I went to see my GP who immediately referred me back to the countess of Chester and gave me back all my pain killers and more. At this point I was taking 8 tramadol, 8 paracetomol, 3 gabapentin, 2 naproxen and an anti sickness tablet daily. I had yet another MRI scan at this point I decided to try Bowen therapy. I had experienced Bowen with one of my horses. My first session an amazing experience and I remember thinking well if it doesn't work at least it has sent me somewhere wonderful for 40 mins. After my first session I felt tired and just needed to sleep. I had weekly sessions which lasted approx 40 mins each and it was amazing after the first 3 sessions I was down to half a tablet a day. 3 weeks after my Bowen started I had to go and see the consultant for my MRI results, he couldn't believe how good I felt and how I had no major pain. He discharged me telling me to continue doing what I was doing. I avoided more surgery. He did acknowledge that Bowen therapy was one of the therapies which often helped back problems. I had regular Bowen until Oct 2010 all has been great I have had the odd twinge and I'm not completely pain free but I have the same level of pain that I had on 22 tablets a day, I feel better about myself, I'm able to do more active tasks and I'm in full control of my brain which I wasn't when on the tablets. I also suffered mild I.B.S, period pain carpal tunnel and sinus trouble all of these have been helped by Bowen.

Reference: 00432, FEB. 2011
Client: JW
Therapist: Claire Harrison

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

In 2007 I woke one morning to the most excruciating pain in my left leg. My GP and A & E at the hospital prescribed strong painkillers but they barely touched the pain so eventually my GP prescribed morphine. This was helpful short term but unpleasant side effects make me seek help from the Natural Health Centre at Totnes were Bowen Therapy was recommended. My first session reduced the pain and my need for vast amounts of painkillers. Subsequent sessions removed my need to walk with a stick and eventually I was off the painkillers completely. The sharp, painful twinges in my left leg had turned to numbness and eventually that vanished too.

Reference: 00450, FEB 2011
Client: C
Therapist: Yatro Mackay

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I first came to see Austin Burn-Jones about a year ago because I was in pain with sciatica that I had had for several months. The GP didn't seem to be able to offer me much help. I should also explain that I have a double curvature of the spine (scoliosis). I have had this most of my life, I am now almost 75! At first I had treatment every two weeks, then the time between visits was gradually extended. At the moment I see him about every six weeks. His treatment has certainly made a difference. The sciatica has gone completely. I am standing up straighter and also I can now lie flat on my back. No way could I do this before Austin's work on my back!

Reference: 00408, FEB 2011
Client: Mrs B
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had lower back pain and sciatica causing me distress and a great deal of pain. The first treatment I had eased my pain and I was amazed that such a gentle technique had such dramatic results.

Reference: 01013
Client: DG
Therapist: Donal Campbell

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had a trapped sciatic nerve for about 4 months before being recommended to the Bowen treatment. Previously I had physiotherapy, chiropractic and acupuncture treatment with no benefit. First session with Judith, pain eased. 4 weeks later I had no pain. Will be returning for regular session to keep healthy.

Reference: 01075, FEB 2011
Client: EB
Therapist: Judith Watson

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I first booked an appointment with Judith in order to try to sort out my severe back pain and sciatica. After about six treatments and nine months later I feel 75% better.

Reference: 01076, FEB 2011
Client: MS
Therapist: Judith Watson

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was recommended to try the Bowen treatment when I developed sciatica which was extremely painful. After a number of sessions the relief was remarkable. Since then I suffered muscle pain in my right arm, so I decided to try the Bowen treatment again. This was also successful and I would recommend this treatment to anybody, which I have on a number of occasions.

Reference: 01077, FEB 2011
Client: RP
Therapist: Lindsay Evans

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have suffered with severe sciatica for the past two years. My GP recommended surgery and drugs. A friend recommended Jo and the Bowen Technique. I have now had three sessions and the relief has been amazing. On a scale of 1-10 where 10 is severe, I have improved from a 9 to a 4. I am hoping that with a few more sessions I will be well enough not to need any surgery. I cannot recommend Jo and her technique enough – absolutely amazing results in such a short time.

Reference: 01078-02-11
Client: NH
Therapist: Jo Austen

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I suffered with sciatica for several months for which my doctor recommended 'pain-killers'. However, I sought help from the Bowen therapist, and after 4 or 5 sessions the pain disappeared. There was a recurrence some time later and I recalled Mrs Mason (therapist) and after 2 or 3 further sessions I was once again clear and have had no further trouble.

Reference: 01079-02-11
Client: ML
Therapist: Susan Mason

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Just over two years ago I started having Bowen treatment as at the time I had sciatica. This was very painful and it made it difficult for me to walk, to socialise and generally enjoy going out. The symptoms seemed to go on for months. My doctor could only offer pain killers. I also tried a TENS machine. For about 30 years I have also had lower back problems – during this time I have been treated by Physio, Chiropractors and Osteopaths. I also tried these with this period of sciatica with no effect. A friend in North London who had severe back problems improved with Bowen Treatment and told me to find a local Bowen therapist. After a few treatments my sciatica was gone. I now have treatment every 5/6 weeks and my back problems have been kept under control. I have never had such a long period with freedom from back problems.

Reference: 01080-02-11
Client: AP
Therapist: Janet Savage

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I started suffering from severe back and hip pain (later diagnosed by my doctor following a scan at the RUH Bath, as being chronic sciatica) around just under 11/2 years ago. As the pain intensified to such an extent that I couldn't cope with a normal life anymore, and after several trips to the doctor where I was prescribed various "painkillers", I came to the conclusion that nothing was really helping my condition – the drugs were merely alleviating the pain temporarily. At this point my neighbour recommended that I pay a visit to Janie Godfrey who practises the Bowen Technique. I admit I was sceptical at first, as I come from a long line of doctors in my family, and tend to "go by the book". After about 3 trips to see Janie however, my symptoms definitely improved. Several trips later and the difference was enormous. I am now able to hike (and even ski!) again and have huge faith in Janie and this technique. I still return to her as the treatment is so soothing and relaxing. Put simply, I have my life back again.

Reference: 01651-03-11
Client: RG
Therapist: Janie Godfrey

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

About 25 years ago I suffered 2 slipped discs and was fitted with a corset and treated by a physiotherapist. My discs would dislodge about six times per year causing me great pain and necessitating bed rest. I started to have Bowen Therapy about 5 years ago and now my discs seldom dislodge. When they do a session of therapy realigns them quickly and without pain. Bowen moves are very gentle, and no spinal manipulation is required. Cathy has also treated me for sciatica which is related to this spinal injury. Bowen Therapy and Pilates exercises now keep me free from sciatica.

Reference: 01652-04-10
Client: AL
Therapist: Cathy Vivian

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have suffered with severe sciatica for the past two years. My GP recommended surgery and drugs. A friend recommended Jo and the Bowen Technique. I have now had three sessions and the relief has been amazing. On a scale of 1 to 10 where 10 is severe, I have improved from 9 to 4. I am hoping that with a few more sessions, I will be well enough not to need any surgery. I cannot recommend Jo and her technique enough – absolutely amazing results in such a short time.

Reference: 01608-02-11
Client: NH
Therapist: Jo Austen

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Having endured four and a half months of sciatic pain and numbness and whilst awaiting an NHS Physio appt, I couldn't stand the pain any longer and decided to give Bowen a try. I was amazed after just one treatment and by the third treatment the pain and numbness had completely gone. I highly recommend Bowen and would use it again for sure.

Reference: 01609-03-11
Client: ES
Therapist: Janie Godfrey

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

unable to bend, lift and had difficulty with stairs

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

now able to bend, lift and go up and down stairs

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

3 weekly sessions

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was sceptical at first but after the first treatment I could see improvement which continued every week

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01684
Client: L. Sheridan Rochdale
Therapist: Lorraine Ashworth

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

I have suffered from sciatica for quite a few years now.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

It prevented me from walking long distances and would give me aches and pains while working.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I can walk further than I used to and it doesn't give me as much grief at work. I seem to sleep better which makes me feel better through the day.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

I had three sessions a week apart then one more four weeks later.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I suffered painful legs due to sciatica. Since receiveing Bowen I have been able walk further and more freely. For a short while I actually felt like I was about 30 years younger such was the buzz it gave me. The pain has not gone completely but it is more bearable and is only there briefly whereas it used to be constant and get me down. I actually feel much better in myself.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01701
Client: TO
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Severe pain in lower back and left leg.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walked with great difficulty and severe pain, could not sleep.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

After 3 sessions completely free from pain and resumed all activities.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had severe pain in lower back and left leg. Dr gave me tablets which upset my stomach and did not help. A friend recommended Bowen, so although sceptical, I liked the idea of it being gentle. After 1st establish I improved quite a bit, by the 3rd treatment, all pain and numbness went and I can now lead a fully active life. Danielle also helped my arthritis and my jaw and some shoulder pain.

Reference: 01738
Client: BGL
Therapist: Danielle

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain from a herniated disc and sciatic pain.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking/sitting/moving without pain.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have really benefited from Bowen therapy and I am pain free most of the time now without taking any medication. I found the sessions really relaxing and usually felt energized after them. My symptoms improved after each session and I felt calmer in everyday life too.

Reference: 01727
Client: ML
Therapist: Jackie Bowen

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sciatica, knee and shoulder.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Working to my full potential.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Partially.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

It has helped me significantly. I had treatment weekly for about four weeks, now I go every six weeks. I am very impressed with the Bowen therapy that I get from Rosalind-Marie Fallon.

Reference: 01743
Client: RHS
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

 

READ ANOTHER TESTIMONIAL / CASE STUDY