Enquiries: 07713 552 858


Testimonials & Case Studies

JAW PROBLEMS

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen helps me feel re-aligned and also helps enormously with TMJ. Unfortunately, in a stressful situation the TMJ returns, but the benefits from Bowen will normally last at least 6 weeks.

Reference: 01657-03-11 [453]
Client: VA
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

TMJ Pain (pain in teeth, jaw and neck)

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I started Bowen treatment mainly to help resolve a very painful case of TMJ from which I had suffered for over three years and had given me constant pain in my teeth, jaw and neck. After just one treatment my jaw moved position and the pain began to diminish. It took a number of treatments to finally resolve but now, thanks to the Bowen treatment combined with neck stretching exercises, I no longer suffer from TMJ. I have also found the treatments useful to help resolve problems with my back, stomach and my general wellbeing. I would highly recommend it to anybody who has a muscular or postural problem, as well as those who have physical issues as a result of stress.

Reference: 00426, FEB 2011 [452]
Client: MA
Therapist: Clare Handforth

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Insomnia, Grief, Chronic Pain, Lethargy

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

When months of aches and pains and lack of sleep had quite worn me out, I decided to see if the Bowen Technique could help me, since sleeping pills and painkillers weren't working. In the first session, Jo worked on my leg which had been so painful; I'd been limping for 10 weeks. The doctor said it was probably a trapped nerve. I limped in and skipped out! In 5 sessions Jo worked on the various painful areas - feet, hands, hips, shoulder and my jaw, which Jo felt was probably the cause of the facial pain that had troubled me frequently for many years. Each week I felt better - not just a reduction to pain but sleeping more soundly and waking feeling more energised. Now, I've resumed swimming twice a week, I go to over 50's aerobics and look after my large garden with renewed pleasure, as well as once again, being able to knit and crochet without pain in my hands. I heartily recommend the Bowen Technique to anyone who wants to remember how it feels to wake up refreshed; looking forward to the new day knowing you can deal with whatever it may bring. I am now feeling much better, fitter and younger than pre-treatment. Thank you for revitalising me!

Reference: 00413, FEB 2011 [451]
Client: DM
Therapist: Jo Wortley

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

From the age of 18 I had persistent problems with my jaw; whenever I yawned or had to open my mouth wide it would lock so my mouth was actually opened very little. I would have to press the joint and move my jaw from side to side in order to release it. This was an ongoing problem that was extremely noticeable in everyday activities, including eating. I stopped playing the clarinet because the tension around my jaw made playing painful. I had 3 Bowen treatments and was surprised by how quickly the pain and the locking problem were alleviated. Three years after having this treatment I am not experiencing any discomfort or locking of my jaw at all.

Reference: 01036, FEB 2011 [450]
Client: IC
Therapist: Nikki Wilmot

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

In a newspaper article, I read of a lady who had suffered similar symptoms to those I had been experiencing for some time, a very painful cheek and jaw which made chewing and speech quite difficult. The lady had received Bowen therapy which had a remarkable effect and had cured her problem. In Carlisle I found Freda Hodgson and after the first treatment the pain had almost disappeared and with two more visits, had cleared completely. I have now been pain free for 2 years. This was amazing because my dentist had told me that nothing could be done, yet Freda's gentle treatment had worked.

Reference: 01038, APRIL 2011 [449]
Client: GT
Therapist: Freda Hodgson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Jaw problem. Hip pain

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Eating properly and pain along side of face.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Able to eat better. Less pain in jaw. Also left hip pain a lot better after treatment for realignment.

Reference: 01138-05-11 [448]
Client: SL
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck pain and pain in jaw on yawning and eating.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Looking over shoulder when driving and pain during daily activities.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Neck pain has been considerably reduced and jaw pain has been fully resolved.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have benefited from Bowen Treatment and would consider using it again in the future if needed.

Reference: 01120-07-11 [447]
Client: CS
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

General stiffness in back and neck, jaw not in place.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

N/A

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

When I went for my check-up at the dentist he was impressed to see my jaw now in line. He's got quite a few clients with jaw problems so I have given him your details!

Reference: 01327-11-12 [446]
Client: EH
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

TMJ + trigeminal neuralgia (1) and occasional lower back pain (2)

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Living an easy carefree lifestyle, 1) eating drinking and swallowing – earache 2) walking – also bringing a deal of added stress

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Bowen (with Richie) has certainly helped me at such times as I feel things were difficult.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The treatments I have received have been most beneficial and to be able to talk things through have been much appreciated – because we can then recognise where we need to concentrate most. It has certainly helped my mind – and helped to make and recognise the connections each set of muscles has on the other. I feel better afterwards and have learnt a bit each time.

Reference: 01334-10-12 [445]
Client: PJ
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

 

READ ANOTHER TESTIMONIAL / CASE STUDY