Enquiries: 07713 552 858


Testimonials & Case Studies

MIGRAINE

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

4 years ago our daughter became extremely poorly with what was eventually diagnosed as abdominal migraine. She had horrific symptoms of vomiting and severe abdominal pain. The episodes could last weeks at a time and were not helped by painkillers or any of the other different medications she was prescribed.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

She was frequently ill, losing many days and weeks from school. She was seen by many different Doctors, Consultants and at different hospitals. It was an extremely difficult, depressing and worrying time in our lives, that impacted on us all and we were very worried about her future.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

In desperation during one episode of my daughter being extremely ill we were offered Bowen Therapy appointment with Lorraine that same day. Lorraine was amazing with our daughter and treated her there and then; we instantly saw an improvement and were able to get her back to school within the week. Over time, our daughter has continued to see Lorraine regularly. Her health has been drastically transformed for the better. Her attacks are reduced to few and far between and do not last more than a day at most.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

2 Bowen sessions a week apart then a third session after two weeks then a two month gap for the fourth session. Then regular preventative monthly sessions by choice.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

We are forever grateful for the care, skills and professionalism we have received.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01775 [959]
Client: TT Rochdale
Therapist: Lorraine Ashworth

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Chronic migraines/ear & facial pain

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Prevented me from every day life.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I have more of a positive outlook on life

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

8 x 1 hour sessions

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have been seeing my Bowen therapist Christine for a few months now, words cannot express just how incredibly amazing this lady is. She has helped me more than any health professional and believe me I have seen lots of them. Christine is so very caring, attentive, kind, and most importantly she has one main goal which is to make you feel better. I can genuinely say I look forward to every session. Bowen has really helped me switch off and relax and I feel so much better after each session. I cannot thank Christine enough for all she has done and I highly recommend her and Bowen to anyone suffering with any type of pain.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01772 [956]
Client: Kate Godfrey
Therapist: Christine Cahalin

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulders and severe migraines

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Had trouble moving, dressing and even working with my shoulders and my migraines meant I was unable to work all of the time.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Shoulders are much improved and am able to dress myself now. Migraines have reduced significantly.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

Initially weekly for three months (I really was in a bad way!) then fortnightly and now monthly.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

When I first visited Kate is was on the recommendation of a friend, I knew nothing about Bowen. Kate spent time explaining her treatment and then listening to my many problems which included two frozen shoulders, joint pain and stiffness (caused by spending the last 20 plus years sitting at a computer all day with a very stressful job) and severe migraines that were occurring on an almost weekly basis. I have to say that Kate has made a huge difference to my shoulders and joints but the biggest effect has been to reduce the number of migraines. I think I have only had eight this year when last year it would have been eight per month!! Lovely Kate is a kind and warm person who makes you feel at ease and an hour with her is time well spent.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01759 [954]
Client: Julie Lindon-Jones
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Back Pain, Migraine

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Occasional time off work and pain

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Less time off work and less pain

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

Had both complaints for a number of years and so have had a number of sessions.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Less pain with intervals of being pain free.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01760 [951]
Client: Hannah Cowlishaw
Therapist: Kathryn Phillips

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Spina Bifida Occulta / Migraine

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I am a forty-five year old woman, who having suffered years of chronic back pain and being told there was nothing the medical practitioners could do, I was recommended Bowen therapy. I could not believe the difference in how I felt after the first session with Sandie Hamer. Subsequent sessions proved even better, not only has it significantly relieved by back pain it also appears to have stopped my migraines! I go every few weeks now just for a 'top up' and I feel wonderful. I have recommended Bowen therapy to many friends and colleagues all of whom have felt the benefit.

Reference: T15, NOV. 2008 [563]
Therapist: Sandie Hamer

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have been suffering from migraine headaches for many years, generally I assumed hormonally triggered due to their regularity, Janet was recommended to me and I went for 3 treatments in close succession. I waited for my usual migraine to occur, but it didn't happen. I've kept appointments as top ups roughly every 6-8 weeks and have only experienced mild headaches occasionally sine. As the usual migraine would see me in bed for 2-3 day at a time, I can really say this has been a life changing experience. My visits are relaxing and refreshing.

Reference: 01057, FEB 2011 [562]
Client: TS
Therapist: Janet Barry

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Every day at work I would return home with a migraine. Feeling totally fed up and at the end of tether. I tried Bowen. After 2 sessions my migraines went. Nothing at work or home changed, so I can only put it down to Bowen treatments.

Reference: 01056, FEB 2011 [561]
Client: KC
Therapist: Judith Watson

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Having suffered from migraines for over 15 years my Bowens therapy has been a wonderful relief. After treatment I feel clear headed and a feeling of well being. I still have therapy about every 5 weeks as the me time is very special and it helps me to face whatever life has in store.

Reference: 01055, FEB 2011 [560]
Client: LA
Therapist: Judith Watson

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

After suffering from migraines and irritable bowel symptoms for some time, and painful arthritic fingers for a few months, I had 4 sessions of Bowen Therapy. Even after the first session, I felt much more relaxed and my energy level increased. I have had only two migraines (I would have expected at least twice as many) and they have been less severe and shorter in duration. I have had some improvement in my IBS although it comes and goes. The finger pain has reduced considerably so that only one finger is affected now and that not all the time. A tight and painful left hamstring has also improved. I intend to continue with top-up treatments at intervals as I feel Bowen has really helped me.

Reference: 01032, FEB 2011 [559]
Client: KE
Therapist: Pat Bryden

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine, Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), Arthritis

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

After suffering from migraines and irritable bowel symptoms for some time, and painful arthritic fingers for a few months, I had 4 sessions of Bowen Therapy. Even after the first session, I felt much more relaxed and my energy level increased. I have had only two migraines (I would have expected at least twice as many) and they have been less severe and shorter in duration. I have had some improvement in my IBS although it comes and goes. The finger pain has reduced considerably so that only one finger is affected now and that not all the time. A tight and painful left hamstring has also improved. I intend to continue with top-up treatments at intervals as I feel Bowen has really helped me.

Reference: 00433, FEB 2011 [558]
Client: KE
Therapist: Patricia Bryden

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I heard about Clare and Bowen treatment through a friend. I have suffered from Migraines from my teenage years to now, and I am now in my 30's. The Migraine attacks came on firstly with excitement and anxiety, much later after my children and hitting my late 30's my attacks have been related with menstruation. I spoke to Clare, she gave me a course of treatment and during this course over 3 weeks I experienced that the treatment was definitely having some effect on me. I awaited my next menstrual cycle and I didn't get the migraine I was expecting. As a patient, I can't tell you how the treatment worked, however it worked for me. I am now a believer in Bowen and have told lots of friends about this unique treatment. Clare is a professional and understanding person and is passionate about her work. I fully recommend her to anybody seeking the Bowen treatment. I have no connection with Clare other than as a very satisfied client/customer.

Reference: 00424, FEB 2011 [557]
Client: GM
Therapist: Clare Handforth

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Hormone Imbalance, Stomach Migraines

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

For two years K has been unwell. The doctor said it was stress, then said "hormonal problems" K was off school 1 week in 4. She had pains in her stomach, she was pale, washed out - all she could do was sleep for 3 days at a time. Scans and blood tests came back clear. All doctors could do, was increase her drugs, with suspected "stomach migraine". 18 months later, we spoke to Jo and once a week K had a Bowen treatment. K gradually began to improve. The doctor said to cut out all drugs, continue with Bowen treatments and then report back to him, which we did. The doctor now only gives K a very mild pain killer once every 2 months. K is now 80% better. Thanks Jo, for all your hard work. Life is for the better now.

Reference: 00414, FEB 2011 [556]
Client: TW (father of K)
Therapist: Jo Wortley

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine and Neck Pain

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have suffered from regular migraines since puberty and I am now in my mid thirties, they were so bad I would sometimes be off work for several days – the pain would be so intense that it would affect my vision. No other therapy I have tried has ever worked, and pain killers were a waste of time. I had just four treatments of Bowen Technique with Austin and so far I have had only one serious migraine in the last 2 years (2008).

Reference: 00410, FEB 2011 [555]
Client: Mrs G
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I just wanted to let you know how grateful I was for the kindness you showed me when I had a migraine. I slept really well on the night of the treatment and haven't had a headache since!! Thanks again

Reference: 00418, FEB 2011 [554]
Client: A
Therapist: Jo Wortley

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine headaches

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Working and living life to the full

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen has helped to reduce the frequency of my migraine headaches. I have slept better and feel more relaxed generally. I understand the trigger for the headaches and Bowen has helped me to adjust my lifestyle accordingly (preventative measures).

Reference: 01116-05-11 [553]
Client: SF
Therapist: Alison Cowley

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have been suffering from migraines for the last 3 years, with them increasing in strength and frequency over the last year. Having tried several types of medication from my GP I was referred to Freda by a friend who suggested I try the Bowen Technique. I visited Freda Hodgson on February 14th 2011 and had three sessions – I have been migraine free ever since I completed the treatment.

Reference: 01613-04-11 [552]
Client: KK
Therapist: Freda Hodgson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Problem with ankles and Migraine

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking without discomfort

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes – Fully resumed

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Not only helped with ankles, but the all body treatment has helped to reduce the migraine attacks which I had frequently – I will use this therapy again as it was wholly beneficial.

Reference: 01148-11-11 [551]
Client: YK
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Monthly Migraines

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

General daily functions.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

It has removed all problems of my migraines for several months at a time. When it does come back a treatment will sort me out again for several months. Wonderful! The difference is huge.

Reference: 01178-06-11 [550]
Client: CG
Therapist: Lindsay Hanson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraines

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have suffered with regular migraines for years which stop me from working for days at a time every month or so. Being self-employed this affects my business. I had my first Bowen treatment with Enys and it triggered a headache which completely disappeared after a couple of hours. The second treatment left me feeling drained, but this again passed. I followed the after-care sheet provided by Enys and had two more sessions. These left me elated and feeling very well. Since then, I have been well and my head feels clear and I have not had a headache since. I will certainly be returning for "top-ups" – a real revelation. I have recommended it to friends.

Reference: 01231-07-12 [549]
Client: SJ
Therapist: Enys Evans

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Poly Rheumatoid Arthritis, migraines, frozen shoulder.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Still Disease from 12 years old and poly rheumatoid arthritis all my life. After fourth child, completely incapacitated, huge weight loss – bent limbs. Severe migraines for 7 years. Have had remissions, but also crippling episodes and frozen shoulder. Have had many therapies throughout my life – Bowen is amazing. My atrophy has gone – migraines gone – frozen shoulder gone. I realise I have a disease, but it is totally under control – I do not take drugs of any sort. I have a treatment on average once a month to control my symptoms. "Bowen Rocks".

Reference: 01258-02-11 [548]
Client: BB
Therapist: Sandra Harris

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine / Stroke / chronic fatigue / insomnia

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Leading a normal life, driving

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Partially

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

For the first time in 15 years I have been able to enjoy more than a few hours sleep each night. I was migraine free for 4 months, and the seizures I was experiencing from hemiplegic migraine have stopped completely. I still get tired easily, but the Bowen experience has been very positive.

Reference: 1298-05-13 [547]
Client: AA
Therapist: Enys Evans

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine, joint pains, feeling ill most of the time

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, taking part in everyday things

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

For the past 6 years approx. I'm a different person, if I should have a time when I'm not well, we increase my treatment which soon helps me to cope again. When you are in awful pain all the time it really pulls you down. My treatment has really helped me.

Reference: 01443-2-13 [546]
Client: SC
Therapist: Jo Austen

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Bad back and migraines

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sport at times

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I no longer have migraines, just headaches about one or two a week but not that force me to bed like before. My back has stopped hurting as much.

Reference: 01472-3-13 [545]
Client: TL
Therapist: Barbara Morton

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

When an attack occurred I wouldn't do anything.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes – Bowen has been great.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Before Bowen I suffered regular migraines, as many as 2-5 a week. I had been prescribed sumatriptan which helped the migraine but left me feeling awful. I had got to the point where I did little at the weekends and was feeling very low. Someone recommended Bowen and I visited Jacky at Wellbeans and never looked back. My migraines are very rare now and when they do occur I manage them much better. Bowen really has made a great difference to the quality of my life and wellbeing. I recommend the treatment to everyone. My husband also now attends regularly for treatment on his knees which had plagued him for years.

Reference: 01534-01-16 [544]
Client: MR
Therapist: Jacky Stevens

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Migraine

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Impacted severely on daily life as mother and at work.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully – significant improvement, in particular in severity of migraine.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have suffered from migraine for approximately 20 years, but they have accelerated over the past 6 years. I am under care of neurologist and have tried many prophylactic treatments, Botox and a stimulation device, I have also tried acupuncture, physio and a chiropractor & massage therapist. I was a little sceptical at the start of the treatment although very willing to try. Within 3 weeks I began to see an improvement and had 14 days without a headache (normally 20+ headache days per month). I have had approximately 8 treatments and I have noted a significant and life changing improvement. I still get migraine & headaches, but they have significantly improved in severity and over all frequency. I am very grateful for the improvement in quality of life this has enabled. (I am also currently using cefaly device and agree both may be working, but very confident Bowen had dramatically helped).

Reference: 01482-01-15 [543]
Client: VA
Therapist: Linda Moore

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Constant migraine

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Most things!

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen treats the body as a whole, rather than just focussing on the symptoms. This approach has worked for me. It is also extremely relaxing.

Reference: 10584-10-15 [542]
Client: RC
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh

 

READ ANOTHER TESTIMONIAL / CASE STUDY