Enquiries: 07713 552 858


Testimonials & Case Studies

SHOULDER PROBLEMS

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder and back pain.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Restricted movement in left arm and shoulder, back pain.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

Approximately 12 sessions once a week and later twice per month.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have been having problems with frozen shoulder and back pain. Nothing seemed to help until I began to see Christine Cahalin. Christine is a Bowen Technique therapist. With her treatment and advice, she has helped me to "defrost" my shoulder and sort out the back pain. The Bowen Technique seems particularly helpful to me as I have had previous similar problems with my other shoulder, which was successfully treated. At each session, Christine would carefully assess my health issues and during treatments she would review my progress.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01776 [968]
Client: Laura Shelton
Therapist: Christine Cahalin

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Rotator cuff injury to the shoulder which first occurred over a year ago

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Couldn't do any lifting (even a saucepan), driving, carrying anything with left arm, difficult to put coat on, pain waking me up at night

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, able to resume all activities since Bowen

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

Six sessions - first 4 around a week apart, then one after 2 weeks then sixth 3 weeks after that

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Definite improvement. Much more movement in the shoulder after over a year of problems, despite physio for 6 months and a cortisone injection prior to coming for Bowen.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01781 [965]
Client: Maureen Yorke
Therapist: Lucy Cross

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

A few twinges: painful SI joint pain brought on by landing awkwardly on a ski slope postural pain - stiff neck and shoulder occipital headaches primarily due to office work a clicking jaw from an injury in my teens

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Reduced mobility and strength, unable to exercise Interrupted sleep Pain Tiredness

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I am now exercising normally, shoulder mobility returned headaches have all but disappeared sleeping well tiredness has gone

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

I had 3 sessions a week apart, then a further 2 sessions 4-6 weeks apart

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had a shoulder impingement and soreness which was interrupting my sleep. I was also experiencing occipital headaches every other week which tended to last 3 days. Both were leaving me very tired, I had cut back on exercise as my back and shoulder was painful and I had reduced mobility. I found the sessions very effective, non invasive, and I would feel an improvement following each session. I am now exercising normally, my shoulder mobility slowly returned and the strength is building back up. The best thing is my headaches have all but disappeared, and when one threatens I know how to limit its duration and relax my head, shoulders and neck. I always recommend Bowen Therapy whenever anyone describes any muscular/skeletal issues they are having. I find it very effective, and also very relaxing, more relaxing than a traditional spa massage therapy! I would encourage anyone to try it for themselves.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01784  [963]
Client: JS Wolverhampton
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

I had lots of aches and pains in various parts of my body, particularly in my right shoulder, neck and right hip that physiotherapy wasn't able to address. However, the pain was not consistent, especially in my hip and seemed to move about. I was unable to sleep and felt constantly tired.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

I had limited movement in my neck; due to the pain in my shoulder, I found household tasks and lifting difficult; the pain in my hip meant that I had trouble putting weight on my foot, so I could bend down but found it difficult to get back to a standing position, going down stairs became worrying, as my leg would give way and sitting and walking were also painful at times.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

My neck moves easily now; my shoulders are pain free and I have very few instances of not being able to stand and no problem descending stairs. The pain in my hip is very much reduced and I have learnt which movements are likely to bring it on. In addition, my jaw is out of line and had started to crack loudly but this was addressed and I can now open my mouth wide without this happening.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

I had 4 sessions on a weekly basis, 3 fortnightly and 2 on a monthly basis, which I am keen to continue for a while longer.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen Therapy has helped me turn my life around. It is delivered in a very calming environment and atmosphere and, being based on deep breathing, it is very relaxing. Unlike physiotherapy, it is a painless and non-invasive procedure. The technique used consists of very gentle tweaks around the area of pain in rhythm with the breathing, which has indirectly helped my asthma. I have also learnt a lot about the human body, as I had never heard of the fascia before. I have fallen a lot in my life and I never knew that the jaw had anything to do with balance! I am really glad my physiotherapist directed me to Bowen, as I now leave each session relaxed and feeling like a new person!

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01749 [935]
Client: Irene
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

1.Frozen shoulder 2. Displaced kneecap (skiing injury)

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

1. Extremely painful, unable to sleep as pain worsened when lying down. 2. Pain and hobbling gait

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Everything! 1. I had been told by my GP to take painkillers and eventually it would improve but could take two years. I had three Bowen sessions in two weeks and it was cured and has never recurred. 2. I hike strenuously regularly and ski every year & experience no problems with my knee.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

Three for shoulder, probably half a dozen for the displaced kneecap.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was sceptical about the technique but a sensible friend recommended it so I gave it a go. It certainly worked for me and is the treatment I would choose for any joint or tendon problems. I am still skiing and hiking at 62 and would have no hesitation in consulting my local Bowen therapist for any mobility problems or injuries.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01713 [897]
Client: CA
Therapist: Beverley Wood

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Doing up my bra at the back, couldn't lift my arm higher than my head, and swimming.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Swimming, reaching up for things of a high shelf, doing my bra up at the back, dancing and exercising can now do all this and no pain.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

3 sessions about once a month

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

No pain in my arm and shoulder can now go swimming and do lots of things I couldn't do before.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01711 [895]
Client: PMC
Therapist: Louise Carey

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Immobile shoulder, TMJ, limb length difference

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Carrying shopping bags, walking holding my daughter's hand, lifting anything higher than waist, cycling longer distances, exercising in gym or any exercise with heavier load.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

All of above have been resumed and difference is immeasurable.

How many sessions have you received (and how often)?:

Once every 2 or 3 weeks at the start and now 1 per month as a maintenance and relaxation programme.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Quite simply, before Bowen I couldn't do stuff without pain and limitation. Now I can do stuff I used to do freely; I feel about 10 years younger physically; I have more energy; I find it eadier to relax; and I know that if I do get another ache or pain, Bowen will sort it.

I would be happy to recommend Bowen Therapy to others.

I would be happy to recommend my therapist to others.

Reference: 01696 [882]
Client: SB
Therapist: Mary Macfarlane

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

This technique was unknown to me. A friend of mine whose son had fallen off a roof had received Bowen Therapy and was totally without pain after the first session. I had been suffering a frozen shoulder at the time and she suggested I make an appointment with Hilary. The pain was so severe that I was prepared to try anything! Previously my doctor had prescribed painkillers and suggested I make an appointment with a physiotherapist – privately as there was a 4 month waiting list at the local hospital. I went for Bowen Therapy and after two sessions the pain had gone. It was an amazing experience as I felt "something" was happening to by body with gentle "hands on". After my session, I had my first full night's sleep in months.

Reference: 01658-02-11 [839]
Client: IB
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Having muscles that had been weakened by months of inactivity before and following bowel cancer, inadvertently led to my old back problem reoccurring. The frozen shoulder, with total restriction, caused by simply reaching for something in the back of the car, just created further mobility problems. Finding Bowen turned out to be a revelation and I have no doubt the Bowen treatment shortened the muscle recovery time (which I had been told could be up to 2 years) massively. Sleeping is now better and I find I can lie in any position without any discomfort, a vast improvement on previously. Muscle strength has now virtually returned allowing swimming and gardening activities to be resumed. In fact it is hard now to remember ever having a frozen shoulder, never mind a bad back.

Reference: 01611-01-11 [838]
Client: DP
Therapist: Michael Watson

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I went to see Catherine Ford in the hope that the Bowen Technique could help alleviate the pain and stiffness in my shoulders caused by years of arthritis. I had read that Bowen was very effective for treating "frozen shoulder" so thought it was worth trying. I had also been feeling very "muddle-headed" and struggled to concentrate and remember things. After only a few treatments with Catherine, my shoulders regained their full range of movement for the first time in years and they were no longer painful and stiff. And my "fuggy head" disappeared, my concentration improved dramatically and I no longer felt tired and sluggish. Catherine is an excellent practitioner who inspires confidence in her patients. And Bowen is an amazing technique which has worked wonders for me.

Reference: 01022, MAY 2010 [837]
Client: SH
Therapist: Catherine Ford

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower Back Pain, Frozen shoulder

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

As Bowen has cured 25 years of Back Pain and subsequently dealt with a Frozen Shoulder, it is high time I said "thank you". I have to confess that when I first came to see Austin I was sceptical. The Back Pain, from playing cricket and rugby as a young man, was something others had tried to cure and that I had grown accustomed to. The process of analysis Austin took me through surprised me, as he successfully diagnosed the seat of former sports injuries, just by looking at my posture and movement. The process of manipulation and subsequent cure was much gentler than I had expected, although at each session I felt very aware that my body had changed. The process of discovering that cure had happened was both pleasant and surprising. Firstly my golf improved and some weeks after having Bowen Therapy it slowly dawned on me that I had no pain. I still have no pain some two years after back manipulation, and 6 months after treatment for Frozen Shoulder. I have also recommended Austin to my friends, family, clients and colleagues. He has surprised them just as pleasantly and successfully.

Reference: 00407, FEB 2011 [836]
Client: Mr P
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulder, RSI

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

As a person with Type 1 diabetes, I am unfortunately prone to getting frozen shoulders, which are painful, and very incapacitating. When I injured my right shoulder last year, it rapidly developed into the fully frozen stage, with pain at night which interfered with sleep, as well as making it impossible for me to use a computer or carry bags. Having seen a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon who specialises in shoulders with a previous episode, I knew that the average recovery time would be at least 18 months, unless I could find a complementary treatment which would speed up the recovery process. I have been very impressed with a course of Bowen treatments, supplemented by exercises to perform at home, which resulted in enough mobility within four months to enable me to drive a left hand drive car on an extended road trip, as well as giving me sufficient movement to perform all the activities I would normally do as part of my working day. Bowen has also been helpful to me in posture adjustment and helped with a repetitive strain injury, caused by typing whilst my shoulder was still frozen. I think patients new to Bowen will also be pleased with a practitioner's commitment to only offer sessions at the frequency with which they are really required, and only if they are causing improvement.

Reference: 00406, FEB 2011 [835]
Client: Dr R
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I began to experience stiffness in my left shoulder which within a short period of time (3 to 4 weeks) had progressed to totally limiting my left arm movement and severe pain, which was particularly bad at night. I could not put my arm behind me or raise it to any extent. In addition I could not sleep as the pain was so bad at night. I went to my GP who diagnosed a Frozen Shoulder. He prescribed strong pain killers to help me sleep and referred me to a physiotherapist for both assessment and treatment. She told me that unfortunately with this condition it would take a while to recover, up to 3 years in some cases. After several weeks there appeared to be no improvement and I was asked to consider a cortisone injection. Although reluctant I decided to have the injection as the lack of sleep was very draining and was affecting both my home and work life. I had the injection at 10am on a Friday, a surprisingly painless experience and for the rest of the day I felt great; no pain although movement was still restricted. On Saturday the pain returned and remained. The injection had provided me with relief for barely one day. I was then seen by a pain specialist who asked me to consider 'manipulation under general anaesthetic'. I was reluctant but again felt I needed to try any possible solution. I agreed and was told there was a 3 months waiting list. I mentioned my symptoms to the Winners 2000 in Torquay, as I was limited to the exercises I could do in the gym. They suggested that Austin Burn-Jones who practiced Bowen technique may be able to help. I made an initial appointment and then followed a session of treatments. 6 months on I have full functionality of my left arm, but most important to me was the pain cessation which gradually ceased over a 2 month period. Initially I received Bowen treatment from Austin, and then he later gave me exercises to undertake. Needless to say I cancelled my operation as it was very apparent to me that the Bowen Technique was working.

Reference: 00405, FEB 2011 [834]
Client: Mrs H
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I would like to tell you about how the Bowen Technique has helped me with my shoulder. I injured my shoulder back in August 2004 and didn't really do anything about it. Then I had some reflexology and massage but it got worse and became a "Frozen Shoulder". I was told about this Bowen Technique and thought I would give it a try as I was in so much pain. After a couple of treatments my arm became easier to move. I have been about 6 times now and almost all the movements in my shoulder are now pain free. To say that I am thrilled is an understatement. I would recommend this to anyone who is in pain.

Reference: 00441, FEB 2011 [833]
Client: EH
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had tried several therapies for my frozen shoulder without success. Some of the therapies were very painful to receive. The shoulder pain was affecting my sleep and movement was severely restricted. Bowen Therapy was not a 'quick fix' but there was gradual improvement and the shoulder is now 95% better. I find Bowen sessions to be very relaxing, refreshing and rewarding. I continue to have regular Bowen Therapy because it is gentle and I find it very fulfilling, and also because it fits so perfectly with my own approach to life.

Reference: 00447, FEB 2011 [832]
Client: PS
Therapist: Patricia Bryden

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Before treatment I had steroid injections to relieve the pain. These were successful but my doctor wouldn't allow me to have any more injections. Still in pain with my right shoulder I seeked help with Bowen treatment that had also been successful for one of my relatives. I found the treatment to be very comfortable and relaxing. To my amazement after having just four weekly sessions, the pain has gone. It has not returned and am now enjoying life to the full again and looking forward to getting back to gardening. Thank you.

Reference: 00440, FEB 2011 [831]
Client: HL
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have received Bowen Therapy for a number of different issues, the most recent of which was regarding a specific problem I'd developed in my right shoulder. For about 6 months I'd been experiencing sharp pain, an unusual clicking (which could also be painful) and a slight reduced range of motion in my arm. I attended for Bowen Therapy and following only one session the pain eases, the range of motion improved and within a few days of the therapy the clicking stopped completely. The session occurred around Oct. '10 and now Feb '11, I've had no further problems with the shoulder.

Reference: 01024, FEB 2011 [830]
Client: CH
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have longstanding injuries to my ankles and right shoulder dating back 25 years. I have had may therapies over the years, including osteopathy, cranial osteopathy, chiropractic treatment, physio therapy and acupuncture. I am well aware that no treatments can "cure" me, but I have suffered debilitating pain in walking with many other areas of pain all caused by compensating for the damaged ankles and right shoulder. After 3 visits for Bowen Therapy I felt much more energy, felt better comfort in my body and feel I can walk better with less pain.

Reference: 01001, FEB 2011 [829]
Client: SF
Therapist: Carol Hough

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder pain, heel pain and tennis elbow

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I first went to see a Bowen therapist after having persistent shoulder pain for about six months. After just 2 sessions I found that the pain had decreased significantly and I have had no further problems with my shoulder. Since this time I have been treated by Claire on several occasions with problems with tennis elbow and with my heel. I have found that the treatment has been successful each time.

Reference: 00452, FEB. 2011 [828]
Client: NS
Therapist: Claire Phillipson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain and limited mobility

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had long standing pain and limited mobility in my right shoulder and neck, which had just been worsened by pulling the muscle in this area. Although I had had the long term pain and frustration with limited mobility and postural alignment during my yoga practice, it was the increased discomfort that led me to seek treatment. After the first treatment I had greater mobility and the pain returned to its usual level. After the next two treatments I noticed much more mobility and a positive change in my posture. I found that this continued to improve after the treatment.

Reference: 00448, FEB. 2011 [827]
Client: LA
Therapist: Yatro MacKay

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck and shoulder problems

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had suffered with neck and shoulder problems for a year or so after a fall, this was exacerbated recently subsequent to my sitting immobile for a long period whilst undergoing a stem cell donation procedure. Recommended by my son in law, I underwent a series of Bowen treatments by Penny Gibbings. In total I had five sessions and after a noticeable improvement from the first session my symptoms then gradually further improved. I now have significantly more and pain free movement in both neck and shoulder. This has helped me generally day to day and certainly when driving.

Reference: 00436, FEB. 2011 [826]
Client: RW
Therapist: Penny Gibbings

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Broken shoulder, torn biceps muscle

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

About 10 years ago I slipped and broke my left shoulder, tearing the biceps in the process. I had physiotherapy at the hospital which was successful up to a point. But I still had limited movement in my arm and very often my shoulder would ache quite badly. I put up with this for a very long time until a friend of mine suggested Bowen Therapy. Thank goodness I took her advice. I began seeing Penny on a regular basis. It made a great deal of difference to the mobility of my shoulder and I continue to see Penny for treatment for other issues when I feel the need.

Reference: 00430, FEB. 2011 [825]
Client: A
Therapist: Penny Gibbings

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I had put up with the pain in my shoulder and inability to raise my left arm for a while and considered different types of therapy. Bowen treatment was very non-invasive and easy for me as the patient. It completely cleared the problem in a few visits and I have had no recurrence of the problem.

Reference: 01108-02-11 [824]
Client: SB
Therapist: Yatro Mackay

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I suffer from persistent chronic pain in my right shoulder and arm which would wake me from sleep. My GP prescribed anti-inflammatory drugs which had little effect and the pain continued for many months. Although somewhat sceptical before treatment, I found the Bowen sessions very relaxing and have been very pleased with the results. Nikki's thorough medical assessment identified the root cause and her careful explanation of the Bowen moves allayed my anxiety. The first session was immediately effective, by significantly reducing the symptoms. After correcting my posture and work tasks and receiving the second session, the pain completely disappeared.

Reference: 01107-02-11 [823]
Client: RC
Therapist: Nikki Wilmot

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have long standing painful frozen shoulder and no success with physiotherapy. I am hoping to avoid surgery and a friend suggested Bowen therapy with Samantha Roze. My first consultation was in her new clinic building adjacent to her home. I was delighted that she made careful notes and was kind and caring. I have received seven Bowen treatments (once a week) all of which have been very gentle. The pain reduced further after every visit and in addition after each session I felt really good and "on top of the world". I am now to see Sam just monthly and have my fingers crossed for the future.

Reference: 01106-02-11 [822]
Client: JC
Therapist: Samantha Roze

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I generally have a lot of tension in my upper back and shoulders, but when one shoulder became extremely painful and stiff recently I had a Bowen treatment. After just one treatment, the pain was greatly alleviated and I regained almost full movement. I also felt extremely relaxed afterwards. I felt even better following the second treatment! I felt virtually no pain or tension in my back or shoulders and I felt balanced and aligned overall. Following my recent third treatment, the pain is now completely gone and I feel my general posture has improved. Bowen therapy has proved to be a very positive and beneficial experience for me and as a result I will now be having regular 'maintenance' treatments.

Reference: 01105-02-11 [821]
Client: MG
Therapist: Norman Ogden

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was recommended Bowen treatment for my second frozen shoulder (my first I had been told would now not recover). The results became apparent after my third treatment; I no longer needed pain killers. After further treatments I regained use of my shoulder/arm and also regained use of my first frozen shoulder that my consultant & physio said was beyond repair. After prolonged pain and suffering of frozen shoulder I declare my Bowen therapy nothing less [than] a miraculous cure!

Reference: 01023, FEB 2011 [820]
Client: CL
Therapist: Jen Walker

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain down the left side of my shoulder and across my shoulders.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

The pain severely limited rotational movement of my head.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

One treatment by the therapist has restored the full side-to-side rotation of my head – with NO pain – after years of painful and very limited movement. Four months after treatment, I still have normal pain-free movement. I would happily turn to Bowen for any other such problems.

Reference: 01144-04-11 [819]
Client: LB
Therapist: Christine Cahalin

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder – constant ache and reduced mobility.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Affected my sailing and golf. Uncomfortable to drive. Carrying shopping form supermarket.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Despite Physiotherapy and anti-inflammatory prescribed by my GP, mobility was reducing and it was constantly aching. Since Bowen treatment, I have no pain in the shoulder and flexibility in the shoulder has returned. It is wonderful to be able to play golf and do simple tasks without that constant ache.

Reference: 01127-5-11 [818]
Client: JW
Therapist: Catherine Skelton

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Back and shoulder pain.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Attending classes at the local gym. Continually aching arm etc.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have improved dramatically since I received the Bowen treatment. I have no pain or symptom. In addition, my mood has improved and I feel much better generally.

Reference: 01137-06-11 [817]
Client: RA
Therapist: Freda Hodgson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

1. Frozen Shoulder – 2. Back Problems

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

1. Anything involving right shoulder movement 2. Most normal activites.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

On both occasions the treatment with appropriate exercises appeared to resolve the problems completely. I have made recommendation to acquaintances who appear to have had equally successful treatments.

Reference: 01121-08-11 [816]
Client: DS
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

I fell and injured my right shoulder.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Housework and more important, playing golf.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

I can now do them fully after my Bowen treatment.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have remained calm during my 5 weeks of restriction and appreciate the gradual increase in the range of movement of my right arm. I really enjoyed the treatment and if needed I would definitely use my therapist again. Many thanks.

Reference: 01165-08-11 [815]
Client: CP
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Knee and shoulder pain

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking without pain and reaching.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Both

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was impressed with the way my therapist assessed my complaints and the treatment was given in a calm, professional way which made me relaxed. I have benefitted so much from the therapy and would recommend anyone to give it a try.

Reference: 01173-05-11 [814]
Client: SG
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Left Shoulder pain after car crash also back and legs.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Very measurable as national Bowls player, also club-level golfer and all 3 racquet games.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Bowls back to 70%, golf 80%, Racquets no longer on 'reactive'.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Have 2-3 monthly Bowen sessions for 18 months now, impetus was NHS prescription of 2 chemical painkillers. Without Bowen I may have given up. Now after 15 months PAIN-FREE and 80% strength and finally walking

Reference: 01180-04-11 [813]
Client: JH
Therapist: Melanie Morgan-Jones

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Driving, Playing the Guitar, Reaching high shelves

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The immediate relief form pain was welcome and provided an invaluable platform for steady recovering. I also found the minimally intrusive style of treatment extremely relaxing – I feel it helped me to slow down and conserve energy which I'm sure facilitated recovery. A really god experience which I have recommended to others.

Reference: 01183-13-12 [812]
Client: PW
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Constant pain in shoulder and hip

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Symptoms made everyday work/home uncomfortable and painful.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Normal day to day work/home life so much easier now.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

From going to a daily pain level of 8/10 on a constant basis to a zero pain level and virtually forgetting that body parts were so sore is the major benefit of my treatment. From the first treatment I could, in a way, feel things relaxing, felt more refreshed and mentally less stressed as day to day work and home life became easier with major drop in pain level.

Reference: 01190-03-12 [811]
Client: MD
Therapist: Mary MacFarlane

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Severe aches and pains in shoulders, and stress.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Washing the centre of my back and raising arms above horizontal.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, full movement in shoulders and able to cope with less stress.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

An improvement in general wellbeing, improved sleep, shoulders feel as they did 20 years ago. I am amazed how a gentle, non invasive treatment has improved my health and wellbeing.

Reference: 01191-03-12 [810]
Client: MG
Therapist: Rosemary Barber

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck and shoulder pain.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sleeping, turning head.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes – Sleep returned to normal and neck/shoulder pain reduced and mobility improved.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The main purpose of seeking treatment was to relieve my painful, stiff neck and shoulder blade. The pain had almost completely gone after a couple of treatments, mobility increased and I had no need for painkillers or heat pads. Incidentally, Bowen therapy also cleared my headaches caused by sinusitis and hs helped reduce the symptoms of PMT. I am really pleased (and surprised) by the results of the Bowen therapy, and have recommended it to others.

Reference: 01193-04-12 [809]
Client: AD
Therapist: Kim Holmes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder and back ache.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Working to best of my ability.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

My headaches have virtually disappeared and my back ache has gone. The shoulder aches and knots are no longer the problem they were. A great improvement and would recommend it to anyone.

Reference: 01200-02-12 [808]
Client: HR
Therapist: Merle Davies

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back and Frozen shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing specific – occasional sharp pain on certain random movements

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

N/A

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Yes, when symptoms start to show I have 1 or 2 sessions which immediately relieve the problem every time.

Reference: 01204-02-12 [807]
Client: LD
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Knees and shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Lifting above head and turning quickly.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Found yours and previous treatments at Cobo useful to get the body back to full working order.

Reference: 01206-02-12 [806]
Client: BG
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck pains / shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing other than a good nights sleep.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Found the sessions very good, relaxing – calming (fell asleep once I think) No more pains.

Reference: 01209-06-11 [805]
Client: AF
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back pain, tension in shoulders and neck.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Restrictive movement or painful movement especially golfing.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully, able to play 3 or 4 times per week without discomfort.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have been pleasantly surprised at how the non-invasive, gentle and relaxing treatment can produce a great improvement to my physical and mental well-being. I feel more comfortable and relaxed. Tension in my upper back has disappeared.

Reference: 01214-05-11 [804]
Client: DM
Therapist: Fiona Peel

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Trapped nerve in neck/shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Driving, lifting, house work, gardening, social events.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Since treatment have been able to do everything prior to the problem.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Felt better after every treatment. Symptoms have now resolved. Back normal.

Reference: 01216-07-12 [803]
Client: CT
Therapist: Mary MacFarlane

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder injury

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Stretching right arm fully

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I felt better after treatment.

Reference: 01221-06-11 [802]
Client: ME
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Lifting, putting on clothes, reaching objects.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes – almost back to full range of movement.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Through the gentleness of Bowen Therapy my shoulder has gradually regained its mobility and the pain associated with a frozen shoulder has almost disappeared. This didn't happen overnight, but over the course of 9 treatments. The result is that I no longer need surgery – patience and perseverance paid off!

Reference: 01228-06-12 [801]
Client: LF
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Hot, burning pain in shoulders

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Working and sleeping

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, it's been fine since.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

A very enjoyable therapy that helped ease the pain, would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Reference: 01236-05-12 [800]
Client: RE
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder blade pain

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Effecting competing my horse, sleep and general relaxation because of pain.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I only required two sessions of Bowen treatment and the pain has fully gone. I was very impressed with the treatment and results and have already recommended to friends and family.

Reference: 01241-04-12 [799]
Client: GD
Therapist: Erica Moss

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck, right shoulder, lower back and right hip – all due to car crash

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Living a normal life, walking, sitting, sleeping, everyday tasks i.e. ironing, hovering, hanging out washing, etc.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Walking and sitting are back to normal, the rest have improved.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Prior to starting this treatment I was taking so many painkillers that I felt doped up all of the time and I was still in a significant amount of pain. Now I've reduced my medication by 90% and I am almost pain free. I have no pain in my neck, lower back, right shoulder and right hip most of the time and I feel that I am getting my life back. If I feel I'm in pain I make another appointment.

Reference: 01249-05-12 [798]
Client: DS
Therapist: Judith Watson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back pain, shoulder pain, Achilles tendon.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Walking, sleeping, unable to work.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Shoulder and back fully, Achilles ongoing.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have had many alternative treatments, but feel Bowen to be the most beneficial. My lower back pain has gone, as has my shoulder problems. Bowen also helps you relax and recharge your body. Makes me feel great!

Reference: 01250-09-12 [797]
Client: DB
Therapist: Claire Phillipson

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sharp pain and ache in forearm, elbow and hand. Pain in shoulder and aching lower back.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Using trowel and digging with spade/fork.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully resumed.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Has cured (with one treatment each) gardening related aches and pains in arm, elbow, hand and shoulder. Is easing (with on-going treatments) lower back pain.

Reference: 01253-09-12 [796]
Client: AO
Therapist: Barbara Firman

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Sharp pain in arm and shoulder waking me at night

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Had first treatment and slept better than for weeks – plus no painkillers – after 2nd treatment slept for unbroken 7 hours – wonderful. Pain gone – mobility of arm and shoulder back. Even feel general well-being improved.

Reference: 01254-09-12 [795]
Client: JS
Therapist: Enys Evans

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Poly Rheumatoid Arthritis, migraines, frozen shoulder.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Still Disease from 12 years old and poly rheumatoid arthritis all my life. After fourth child, completely incapacitated, huge weight loss – bent limbs. Severe migraines for 7 years. Have had remissions, but also crippling episodes and frozen shoulder. Have had many therapies throughout my life – Bowen is amazing. My atrophy has gone – migraines gone – frozen shoulder gone. I realise I have a disease, but it is totally under control – I do not take drugs of any sort. I have a treatment on average once a month to control my symptoms. "Bowen Rocks".

Reference: 01258-02-11 [794]
Client: BB
Therapist: Sandra Harris

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Back and shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Just aggravated

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes without a problem

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The first time I ever had a Bowen treatment was the first time in years that I didn't have any aches in my back and shoulder. Bliss. Bowen is so un-invasive it is a pleasure to have, unlike massage. Sometimes it takes a couple of days to fully kick in. Worth a go, it might work for your too.

Reference: 01268-10-13 [793]
Client: LM
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain in right shoulder blade.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing – just annoying

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

My body feels more efficient when playing football, racket ball, running and swimming. No stiffness experienced the day after playing.

Reference: 01269-10-13 [792]
Client: CL
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck and shoulder pain

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Desk work was painful

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, the treatment released the tightness and burning

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Yes, with the treatment and advice on exercises and position of key board/chair and posture.

Reference: 01272-10-13 [791]
Client: JE
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain in shoulder blade / neck pains.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing really. But painful.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Easier to work (Yes)

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Yes, little pains sometimes, but much better.

Reference: 01273-10-13 [790]
Client: KB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Stiff and aching neck and shoulder.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Had trouble lifting my right arm and looking behind me.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Case Study:

Seems to have eased my pains and aches and can now turn my head easier.

Reference: 01274-10/13 [789]
Client: JP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Stiff shoulder.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing, but was uncomfortable and difficult to sleep

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Regular Bowen therapy keeps me balanced and enables me to recognise when something is not right. Am now on 2-3 monthly maintenance and this works very well. If I become aware of a problem I can arrange an extra treatment and this usually enough to restore balance. Would recommend Bowen, is not painful and works very well for me.

Reference: 01275-11-13 [788]
Client: TH
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain in shoulder and back.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Lifting my arm to its full extent.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, fully.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Generally my joints feel much easier than before treatment.

Reference: 01278-11-13 [787]
Client: AB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder, stiff neck

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Easy living

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have a treatment every month and have found that a lot of small complaints have improved and in some cases completely disappeared.

Reference: 01309-03-12 [786]
Client: TB
Therapist: Susan Rook

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Long term hip, back, and shoulder pain

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Using right arm actively and walking distances

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I am beginning to walk again with far more confidence about the way my body works / will be. I am also beginning to use my right arm in ways I have not been able to do for over ten years. The major change is about hope rather than acceptance.

Reference: 01326-11-12 [785]
Client: JAS
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder pain, aching etc. (Right arm)

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

It was annoying, hurt to lift or carry shopping.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Bowen has helped greatly and I can now do most things.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen has helped me to be more relaxed, my shoulder is much, much improved. My pelvis, which was not straight, (right side tilted to the front) is now level. I really did feel the therapy helped my whole body.

Reference: 01324-4-12 [784]
Client: JK
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Painful shoulders.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Raising my arms above the head and sleeping.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes fully.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

A very relaxing and pleasurable experience which has not only relieved my symptoms but has given me additional exercises to help movement and pain relief.

Reference: 01325-10-12 [783]
Client: DEW
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Stiff shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Lifting my arm

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Feeling better and moving better, reduction of pain.

Reference: 01330-11-12 [782]
Client: MZ
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Rotator cuff in right shoulder pain, stiffness

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Using arm day to day activities

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes providing I don't overuse arm (i.e. cleaning windows etc., "rotating")

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Free from pain and can use arm better, providing I don't "overuse" or carry heavy shopping (as above)

Reference: 01332-11-12 [781]
Client: SC
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Rotator cuff injury on the left shoulder, neck pain, lower back pain, numbness in fingers.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Trouble walking, reading, drop things, constant pain in back and shoulders

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully on most days

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Back pain is 85 – 90% better, I can now walk most times without my stick, my shoulder pain has gone during the day, but gives me discomfort at night, the feeling in my fingers is mostly back. My neck doesn't ache so much now whilst reading. The pain in my lower back and facet joint had been there for 12 months prior to Bowen.

Reference: 01378-5-14 [780]
Client: VR
Therapist: Jo Wortley

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder for 2 Years

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Couldn't move arm so restricted all activities for 2 years.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully after one "taster" session

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Had previously had 2 injections, (Cortisone), physio (exercises) + remedial with little to no effect. Had a "taster" Bowen at the village "business promotion" event in November 2013. A follow-up treatment was recommended but a year later she is still well without it!

Reference: 01367-11-14 [779]
Client: MB
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Lifting, stretching, ironing, working

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Partially so far

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Very quickly I regained more movement in the shoulder and the level of pain reduced quite a lot.

Reference: 01437-12-14 [778]
Client: PW
Therapist: Maureen Smith

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Lifting my arms above my head to do work

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

100%

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Yes, would have it again if required.

Reference: 01477-1-15 [777]
Client: FB
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sleeping, difficulty wash hair, putting clothing over head.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, much improved and less pain

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I cannot quite believe the response I have experienced after just one session, a remarkable improvement. Best of all, I have been able to reduce the quantity of oral pain relief, sleeping has been much better. All round improvement. Great

Reference: 01449-4-13 [776]
Client: ME
Therapist: Jo Austen

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Moving my arm

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen helped with the pain and "cured" my frozen shoulder in a shorter time frame than my GP advised if I had taken anti-inflammatories. Treatment was gentle and relaxing.

Reference: 01447-3-13 [775]
Client: SW
Therapist: Helen Barnard

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Severe pain and stiffness in left shoulder and neck

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Looking over left shoulder (reversing car). Laying on side in bed, continually in pain from upper body.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

One treatment. Yes, relief from severe pain and free movement of upper body also pain relief from old injury sites

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I feel back to a fitness level that I usually enjoy, pain free and generally happier in myself. Walking about upright

Reference: 01442-1-13 [774]
Client: TMB
Therapist: Jo Austen

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

I had pain in my left shoulder and upper arm muscle

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

It was worst at night when lying down and prevented me from sleeping

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Excellent results following three Bowen treatments. The pain has now gone

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Following the three treatments, I have had no further pain in the shoulder and muscle. I would recommend Bowen for any pain problems and I would certainly have Bowen again, should any other problems arise.

Reference: 01440-3-13 [773]
Client: JP
Therapist: Ros Harrington

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Long term muscular and neural pain in shoulder, made worse by constant flexing

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

I was in constant discomfort which became worse in stressful situations

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I came to Jo after trying many other methods to alleviate the pain in my shoulder. After the first two treatments I felt looser but the pain, tension/flexing returned in stressful situations. On the third treatment Jo worked on the emotional causes of the pain and immediately I felt the link between the stress and the shoulder flexing melt away. It was miraculous. On the occasions it surfaces again I feel I can deal with it myself.

Reference: 01439-3-13 [772]
Client: JM
Therapist: Joanne Austin

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Lower back pain, shoulder pain & pelvis problems.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

General stiffness & pain.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I have tried many therapies for my back condition, but I find Bowen therapy helps me the most. I get instant relief and it helps re-align my pelvis which takes away the back pain. I also find that Bowen relaxes me.

Reference: 01489-02-15 [771]
Client: YD
Therapist: Linda Moore

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Certain chores

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Slightly, but advice on certain exercises have loosened up my right shoulder

Reference: 01500-02-15 [770]
Client: JC
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Neck and shoulder pain and stiffness

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Working on my computer at work, sleeping properly

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes I have, the treatment has given me more mobility

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen treatment has given me relief from pain, has corrected my posture, when you come out you feel straighter and taller, also it makes you feel very relaxed and the exercises you are given are easy and helps continue the treatment you have received. I would definitely recommend Bowen treatment.

Reference: 01506-02-15 [769]
Client: KP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Trapped nerve in shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Turning quickly and uncomfortable

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Completely better now

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Hasn't completely eased my underlying problems with my back and neck. However along with deep tissue massage there has been an improvement and shoulder/nerve issue restored completely.

Reference: 01509-02-15 [768]
Client: PW
Therapist: Richie McCurdy

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Constant upper back & shoulder pain/limited movement

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Moving my arms without pain, sleeping without waking up from pain and fully relaxing

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Fully – I sleep through the night now, can fully relax without pain & am able to raise my arms with no problems

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Bowen is like nothing I have ever tried before (& I have tried a lot). It is the most gentle & yet the most effective treatment I have received. I am not exaggerating when I say I walk out of every session feeling like I have had a body transplant. In addition to this I sleep so much better than I ever have & that in itself has had a major impact on me too.

Reference: 01514-03-15 [767]
Client: IW
Therapist: Linda Moore

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder pain, tendonitis

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Made doing most tasks more difficult, working, driving, lifting things

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, the pain is less, think magnesium has also helped

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I believe I have, it didn't get rid of the problem, but definitely made the discomfort less, even have days where I don't feel it. Still having neck pain, that hasn't gone, but am using the heat lamp to help.

Reference: 01515-06-15 [766]
Client: AP
Therapist: Tony Crimes

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Back ache, shoulder problem.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing, after effects were constant pain and poor sleeping patterns

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Shoulder pain almost gone. Generally more relaxed with more energy.

Reference: 01518-05-15 [765]
Client: AB
Therapist: Beth Darrall

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Knots in left shoulder which would not go away.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Nothing particularly – just always slight discomfort and would often be increased after running long distances.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

The discomfort has gone, even after undertaking 7-8 mile runs.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

The experience really relaxed me and made me make time for myself. I definitely lost the knots in my shoulder and have not suffered from discomfort since having my treatment. I would certainly recommend Bowen treatment to others.

Reference: 01521-02-15 [764]
Client: LS
Therapist: Susanne Webb

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Pain in upper shoulders and pain going down my left leg. Pain in neck.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sleeping.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Sleeping pattern a little better when the pain is relieved.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I certainly feel that I am standing and walking straighter. My neck is feeling far more comfortable following last treatment. Overall find that Bowen Therapy has had a positive effect on my general well being.

Reference: 01523-05-15 [763]
Client: EG
Therapist: Danielle Mitchell

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Tendonitis in shoulders.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Movement of arms.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

As well as improvement in arms I have experienced general feeling of wellbeing. Also other aches and pains have been helped.

Reference: 01535-12-15 [762]
Client: SS
Therapist: Jacky Stevens

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Shoulder and neck pain and arthritis in knee and thumb joint.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I came to see Jacky mainly because of severe pain in left shoulder and neck, but also because of arthritis on my left side, especially in my knee and thumb joint. After 3 treatments my knee is completely better and my neck is only a slight niggly pain and I feel so much better in myself. From the first treatment I felt different and extremely relaxed. I am hoping to keep seeing Jacky once a month.

Reference: 01537-04-13 [761]
Client: MT
Therapist: Jacky Stevens

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulders.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Raising my arms above my head to do hair.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Before having Bowen I was in a great deal of pain in my arms and now I am almost pain free and getting better with every session. I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone suffering pain.

Reference: 01542-04-13 [760]
Client: ES
Therapist: Jacky Stevens

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

1.Frozen shoulder 2. Displaced kneecap (skiing injury)

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

1. Extremely painful, unable to sleep as pain worsened when lying down. 2. Pain and hobbling gait

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Everything! 1. I had been told by my GP to take painkillers and eventually it would improve but could take two years. I had three Bowen sessions in two weeks and it was cured and has never recurred. 2. I hike strenuously regularly and ski every year & experience no problems with my knee.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I was sceptical about the technique but a sensible friend recommended it so I gave it a go. It certainly worked for me and is the treatment I would choose for any joint or tendon problems. I am still skiing and hiking at 62 and would have no hesitation in consulting my local Bowen therapist for any mobility problems or injuries.

Reference: 44702983 [759]
Client: CA
Therapist: Beverley Wood

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Frozen Shoulder

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Doing up my bra at the back , couldn't lift my arm higher than my head , and swimming

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Swimming , reaching up for things of a high shelf , doing my bra up at the back , dancing and excercising can now do all this and no pain.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

No pain in my arm and shoulder can now go swimming and do lots of things I couldn't do before.

Reference: 48265419 [758]
Client: PMC
Therapist:

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Immobile shoulder, TMJ, limb length difference

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Carrying shopping bags, walking holding my daughter's hand, lifting anything higher than waist, cycling longer distances, exercising in gym or any exercise with heavier load.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

All of above have been resumed and difference is immeasurable.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Quite simply, before Bowen I couldn't do stuff without pain and limitation. Now I can do stuff I used to do freely; I feel about 10 years younger physically; I have more energy; I find it eadier to relax; and I know that if I do get another ache or pain, Bowen will sort it.

Reference: 60383490 [757]
Client: SB
Therapist: Mary Macfarlane

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Stiffness across shoulders and back of neck, tension and pain, rounding of the upper back.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

They prevented full head movement particularly when driving.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes, much more flexibility.

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

I now have more movement across shoulders and much less tension, rounding of the upper back has reduced. Also I am now more comfortable when tilting head backweards.

Reference: 01666 [756]
Client: BS
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

What complaint(s) or symptom(s) brought you to the Bowen Technique:

Chronic shoulder pain.

How did your complaint(s)/symptom(s) affect you?:

Sleeping, enjoying days out.

What activities have you been able to resume since receiving Bowen sessions? How has your life been improved?:

Yes almost 100%

Testimonial of your Bowen Therapy experience (how have you benefitted?):

Within the first week I experienced dramatic improvement. I had increased movement and greater periods of time pain free. I also feel it has improved my general wellbeing and mood. I feel happier after a Bowen session.

Reference: 01664 [755]
Client: EB
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon

 

READ ANOTHER TESTIMONIAL / CASE STUDY